4 years ago - 41 Seconds

100th anniversary of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic

Today in Azerbaijan, celebrations are being held on the occasion of the 100 years anniversary since the establishment of the Azerbaijan Republic.

100th anniversary of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic

The ceremony held at the Cumhuriyet Monument in Istiklaliyet Avenue started with the Azerbaijan National Anthem. President Ilham Aliyev who attended the ceremony left a wreath on the Republic Monument.

Due to the Republic celebration, Turkey, Uzbekistan, Italy, Finland, South Korea, Switzerland, Sweden, Sudan, Morocco, Greece, Cuba, Hungary, Spain, United Arab Emirates, Iraq, China, Russia, Romania, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, the United States, Germany, Kyrgyzstan, Egypt, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Turkmenistan, Belgium, India, Norway, Saudi Arabia, Lebanon, Croatia and many other countries send messages of celebration to President Aliyev.

On May 28, 1918, the National Council of Azerbaijan headed by Mehmet Emin Rasulzade, declared the independence of Azerbaijan Democratic Republic in Tbilisi, Georgia. The temporary Azerbaijani government was established in the city of Ganja under the chairmanship of Fethalin Khan Hoyski and the government missions was carried out there for a while.

The first state to recognize the independence of Azerbaijan was the Ottoman State. The Republic of Azerbaijan ended with the invasion of the Soviet army on 28 April 1920.